Insubuy Insurance

8 AM-9 PM CST. Mon-Fri
8 AM-5 PM CST. Sat-Sun

Visitors Care Insurance Reviews


Many people ask us that they only see the negative reviews, mostly from the foreign based companies. However, they don't see the positive reviews from the U.S. based companies. Therefore, they are not sure whether U.S. based companies are any better. Well, it is a human nature to complain when something goes wrong, but when everything is going fine, most don't bother.


Therefore, the Vice President of IMG's claims department have provided some examples of the actual claims paid and they are presented here verbatim.


  • Visitors Care Certificate and insured effective 11/7/05 to 2/7/06. The Visitors Care insured was admitted to a hospital in the United States on 1/5/06 for the diagnoses of Acute Coronary Syndrome, ST elevations and Anterior Myocardial Infarction. The insured had a noted history of diabetes, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia. The hospital charges were received 1/23/06 and medical records were requested on 2/10/06. The hospital records were received on 3/15/06. These records were reviewed and summarized by IMG's claims department and on 4/13/06 the file was sent for a medical review. Per the reviewing physician's opinion, the diagnoses of Acute Coronary Syndrome and Myocardial Infarction could not be considered as pre-existing conditions. The physician stated that even though it is apparent the patient had diabetes and hypertension at the time of admission, they were unable to determine if the coronary conditions being treated pre-dated the policy effective date since an onset was not given. There was no indication in the records how long the patient had these conditions for which they were admitted to the hospital. Charges presented for benefit determination were $29,000 and IMG paid $4350.05. The dollar payment is reflective of the specified dollar limits for specific covered services provided under the VIC plan.


  • Visitors Care - effective 4/05 and insured incurred a hip fracture 6/05 after tripping on rug. Claims were paid according to plan. Charges were $45,313.85.


  • Visitors Care - effective 11/05 and had a heart attack 1/06. There was no prior history of myocardial infarctions. Benefits were paid up to the $25,000 maximum.




User Submitted Reviews
  • Excellent experience with Visitors Care Insurance


    IMG is an excellent company that pays valid claims. I had purchased the insurance for my parents visiting the US and unfortunately my father got sick and had to be hospitalized. They were very prompt and paid all the bills on time.


    All I had to do was show the providers my insurance card that I had received in the mail. The doctors and the hospitals billed the insurance company directly.


    Thank you IMG. I would recommend IMG to all my friends and family members. I have purchased this insurance for my in-laws who came last year (fortunately nothing happened). I have also purchased the schengen visa insurance from them when I was visiting Germany a couple of years ago.


    Overall very good experience and support.


    Many people make invalid complaints because they do not know how the short term plans work and what the terms and conditions are.


    And I think most people only post the bad reviews, but ignore to spread the good word when everything is doing good. Therefore, I thought of writing this review.


    Ravi
    Feb 18, 2010 at 06:22 PM


  • Good experience with Insubuy


    Thanks for sending the cancellation confirmation. Indeed I am in receipt of the refund. I would like to take this opportunity to convey that I had a wonderful experience having Visitors Care (IMG) plan in terms of claim processing and other services etc. I will certainly buy the insurance from insubuy.com for my future needs.


    Selva Muthukumaran
    Arlington, VA USA - October 06, 2004 at 03:01:43 PM




Have an experience to share about Visitors Care Insurance?
Send it to


Alternatively, you can post them in our visitors insurance reviews section.
If you have any questions about any of the insurance plans, please post them in the Discussion Forum.


Disclaimer: The information within this article is intended as a broad summary of benefits and services and is meant for informational purposes only. The information does not describe all scenarios, coverages or exclusions of any insurance plan. The benefits and services of an insurance plan are subject to change. This is not your policy/certificate of insurance. If there is any discrepancy between the information in this article and the language of your policy/certificate wording, the language of the policy/certificate wording will prevail.